預約查詢
Neurocognitive Training

科研實證

科研實證

關於我們系統的研究

針對神經認知系統的隨機對照研究,獲美國教育部資助並由塔夫茨醫學院 (Tuft School of Medicine) 進行。以下已發表於經同業評審的醫學期刊之文獻,展示了真確而出色的效果。

 


 

《The Journal Pediatrics》-2014年3月,第133卷 第3期

這本由同業評審的期刊,討論了由著名的塔夫茨醫學院,在波士頓公立學校使用我們的神經認知訓練系統進行的六個月隨訪研究。 我們的系統在文章中被稱為「神經反饋」。

結果:
研究人員發現,「與 電腦組或對照組的參加者相比,參加者在過度活躍/過度活躍症( ADHD )症狀方面獲得更迅速和更顯著的改進,並持續至六個月後的隨訪之中。這結果表明,神經反饋對於ADHD兒童來說,是一種具潛力的注意力訓練療法」。

文獻鏈結

 


 

《 Journal of Developmental Behavioral Pediatrics》 – 2014年1月,第35卷第 1 期,第 18-27 頁

著名的塔夫茨醫學院兒童醫院(The Floating Hospital for Children),在馬薩諸塞州的學校以我們的神經認知訓練系統進行了一項對照研究。結果獲《Clinical Pediatrics》雜誌發表。 以下是結果重點:

我們的系統在文章中被稱為「神經反饋(NF)」。

結果:
與對照組比較,接受神經反饋 (NF) 的兒童,在Conners 3-P評估中,專注力、執行功能和全面指數、所有簡要指數,以及 BOSS 運動/言語不專注行為等方面都有顯著改善,而只接受電腦訓練的兒童之表現未見有任何改善。與接受電腦訓練的兒童相比,進行神經反饋 (NF)訓練的兒童,在 Conners 3-P評估中的執行功能、所有執行功能行為評定量表 (BRIEF)指數、SKAMP 注意力,以及 Conners 3-T 專注力子量表等方面都有顯著改善。此外,電腦訓練組和對照組的兒童,哌醋甲脂等量興奮劑物質分別顯著增加至8.54 mg及7.05 mg,而神經反饋 (NF) 組參加者則沒有 (0.29 mg) 。結論反映,與對照和電腦訓練比較,神經反饋 (NF)對 ADHD 症狀有更大的改善效果。

文獻鏈結

 


 

《The journal Clinical Pediatrics》-2011年5月10日,第50:615卷

這本經同業評審的期刊,討論了公立學校使用我們的神經認知訓練系統和認知注意力訓練之情況。研究人員對學生的表現備受鼓舞,並獲得資助進行一項涵蓋 19間學校的研究,有關研究已於2014 年 1 月在《Journal of Developmental Behavioral Pediatrics》發表。

結果:
接受神經反饋(NF)訓練的兒童,在家長填寫的Conners’s評分量表修訂版 (CRS-R) 和兒童行為評估量表 (BASC) 量表中表現顯著變化(P < .05)。 在SCF 環境下,他們報告了 CRS-R 專注力量表和 ADHD 指數、BASC 專注力問題量表和執行功能行為評定量表 (BRIEF)亦有顯著變化 (P < .05)。
結論:這項隨機對照試驗不但證明以電腦應用為基礎的訓練,可用於改善ADHD,亦為在學校環境推行相關訓練的可行性提供證據支持。

文獻鏈結

 


主標題#2 其他相關文獻

訓練大腦集中注意力

塔夫茨大學的研究人員發現,以電腦應用為基礎的訓練可以顯著提升一個人的專注力。

塔夫茨醫學院兒科副教授 Naomi Steiner。

回答問題:

幾多歲最適合開始神經反饋訓練?會不會已太遲呢?

Naomi Steiner:任何年齡的人士也適合進行神經反饋訓練。它利用大腦的可塑性原理產生效果,意味大腦可以因應外來刺激及環境因素而作出調適,故此我們可以通過訓練去進一步發揮大腦的潛能,令負責注意力的大腦部分──額葉大腦──出現變化。年幼兒童的大腦可塑性為最高,並隨著年齡增長而下降。神經反饋訓練適用於所有學齡兒童,同時亦有助於提高成人的專注力,對年屆 50 或更年長的人士也可帶來幫助。對於較年長的群組,目標不只是改善專注力,更重要是保持認知功能。因此,神經反饋在不同的年齡可以締造不一樣的果效,但目的則相同:改善大腦功能。

多久才可以見到效果?

Naomi Steiner:這要因人而異。初中和高中學生及成人,可能從第 10 至 15節訓練開始看到變化,所需時間視乎個人而定。年幼的孩子可能需要更長時間才能看到效果,各人可能存在巨大的差異。

神經反饋的有趣之處,在於成年人通常只需20 節訓練便見效,小學生則往往需要 30至 40節。我們認為這可能是兒童主要通過大腦可塑性產生效果,而成年人則使用「元認知」,即是他們會思考自己是如何思考和學習,從而知道如何使用學習到技能去彌補其不足。元認知與神經反饋的結合,對於患有 ADHD 、專注力低或缺乏組織能力的成年人來說,確實可以帶來巨大的變化。

是否需要確診 ADHD才能進行神經反饋訓練?

Naomi Steiner:這是我經常被問及的問題之一。醫生需要進行診斷方可治療,一來因為診治ADHD一般在診症室進行,二則縱使行為療法已被證明有一定效用,惟首選的治療仍是藥物。興奮劑藥物屬於精神科藥物,具有一定副作用,因此需要必須要符合診斷標準,得到正確的診斷對治療非常重要。

另一方面,我們未見到道神經反饋專注力訓練會帶產生副作用,因此接受專注力訓練毋須有ADHD的醫學診斷。有什麼原因不應該訓練大腦令其變得更好呢?我們可以從廣泛的層面去看專注力訓練,讓家長和老師,以致學生和成年人找出自己的問題,例如專注力不足、無法完成作業、健忘、雜亂無章,都可以利用這些技術來訓練他們的大腦,可以帶來巨大的轉變。

您確定訓練不會產生副作用?

Naomi Steiner:我們在研究當中,確實沒看到任何副作用。當然,讓孩子們在課堂以外進行 40 節訓練,可能佔去不少的學習時間,但有些孩子在學校並未有太好的經歷,對部分人來說這更可能是他們首次獲得公平的機會,按照自己的步伐節奏進行學習。我們在這些孩子身上發現到一個額外的好處,就是他們經由神經反饋訓練獲得自信。

孩子是否要停止服藥才能進行認知訓練?

Naomi Steiner:不用停用。這是首批涵蓋服藥兒童和未服藥兒童的研究,結果服藥組展現的進步幅度與未服藥組一樣。這是非常重要的臨床發現,意味孩子可以如常服藥,甚至在藥物幫助下,進行神經反饋訓練。

聽起來我們似乎都可以從大腦訓練中受益。我們可以在家裡嘗試嗎?

Naomi Steiner:由於神經反饋訓練比較複雜,亦需要一些額外支援,故我認為目前最好還是在專業人員協助下進行訓練為佳。隨著大家更容易接觸到這些技術,預期相關訓練會因應不同的治療目標而發展出不同的治療模式。我估計很多家長都會考慮讓孩子參與訓練,並可能會向相關治療師查詢,並且見到愈來愈多學校有興趣引入這類訓練。從公共衛生的角度而言,讓所有在校學生接受認知訓練或許是不久將來就可以實現的夢想。

神經反饋大腦訓練可以處理哪些症狀?

Naomi Steiner:簡單來說,我們發現它可以幫助孩子們集中注意力。學生會說:「我開始察覺自己的思緒在何時飄走了。」或者「昨天上課時,我意識到自己沒有專心,然後我可以將注意力帶回來。」只要他們不斷努力練習,便可以強化大腦負責集中注意力的能力。

大腦訓練還可以減輕過度活躍和衝動。過度活躍是源於缺乏控制身體的能力,而衝動則因做事前未能三思而後行,例如在遊戲室未詢問便搶走別人的玩具,又或在課堂上不舉手便大聲說出答案。縱使這些孩子並非有意如此,但卻經常因此而惹上很多麻煩,並且被貼上標纖,使他們失去自信,上學亦不再是一件樂事。

這些訓練還可以帶來哪些改進?

Naomi Steiner:科研證據使我們知道,訓練對於與專注力相關且同樣由額葉掌控的執行功能,亦可帶來顯著改善。這實在是個天大的喜訊,因為與大腦協調能力有關的執行功能和技巧,對我們十分重要,尤其是當孩子升讀中學,能否適當分配並善用時間便至關重要。譬如四位老師分處四間教室,你在何時見哪一位老師呢?

不少學生可以自行將功課用顏色分類,但有些學生則需要學習自我管理的技巧。他們有能力去學習,而更重要是神經反饋訓練可以促進他們學習的能力。學習與大腦訓練同步進行是一個令人振奮的構想。

文獻鏈結

 


 

訓練大腦的電子遊戲

思維訓練軟件真的能有助解決兒童的專注力問題?

文章摘錄

「認知訓練系統旨在加強重要的神經技能,例如短期記憶、手眼協調和視覺處理──即使沒有ADHD 的成人和兒童都希望可以改進這些能力,可見認知訓練『可能對每一個人都有幫助』。」弗雷內特表示:「對於在這些方面有缺陷的ADHD兒童來說,重要性更不言而喻。」

「我認為訓練對部分孩子的幫助可以遠多於其他,而觀察他們的進步是一件很有趣的事。」她談到神經反饋計劃時,指「完成 30 至35 節訓練左右,他們似乎突然之間開竅了。」

文獻鏈結

 



我們的課程

– 個人
– 專業
– 學校

了解更多

我們如何改變生命?

– 注意力不足
– 學業問題
– 專注力失調及過度活躍症 ADHD
– 特殊教育需要 SEN

了解更多

Book a Consultation Today
Neurocognitive Training

RESEARCH STUDIES

RESEARCH STUDIES

RESEARCH STUDIES On Our System

The neurocognitive system has undergone randomized, controlled studies funded by the US Department of Education and performed by a Tuft School of Medicine.  The articles below have truly excellent outcomes and are published in peer reviewed journals.

 


 

The Journal Pediatrics (PEDIATRICS Volume 133, Number 3, March 2014)

This peer reviewed journal discusses a six month follow up review of a study performed on Our Neurocognitive Training System by the prestigious Tufts School of Medicine in the Boston Public Schools.  Our system is termed “Neurofeedback” in the article.

Result:

The researchers found that, ”participants made more prompt and greater improvements in ADHD symptoms, which were sustained at the 6-month follow-up, than did CT participants or those in the control group. This finding suggests that neurofeedback is a promising attention training treatment for children with ADHD.”

Link to the article

 


 

Journal of Developmental Behavioral Pediatrics – January 2014, Volume 35 – Issue 1, p 18-27

The Floating Hospital for Children of the prestigious Tufts Medical School performed a controlled study of our Neurocognitive Training System in the Massachusetts School System. The outstanding results were published in the journal Clinical Pediatrics.  Here’s a brief overview of the results:

Our system is termed “Neurofeedback (NF)” in the article.

Results:

Children who received Neurofeedback (NF) showed significant improvement compared with those in the control condition on the Conners 3-P Attention, Executive Functioning and Global Index, on all BRIEF summary indices, and on BOSS motor/verbal off-task behavior. Children who received Computer Training (CT) showed no improvement compared to the control condition. Children in the Neurofeedback (NF) condition showed significant improvements compared to those in the CT condition on Conners 3-P Executive Functioning, all BRIEF summary indices, SKAMP Attention, and Conners 3-T Inattention subscales. Stimulant medication dosage in methylphenidate equiv-alencies significantly increased for children in the CT (8.54 mg) and control (7.05 mg) conditions but not for those in the Neurofeedback (NF) condition (0.29 mg). Conclusion: Neurofeedback (NF) made greater improvements in ADHD symptoms compared to both the control and CT conditions.

Link to the Article

 


 

The journal Clinical Pediatrics (CLIN PEDIATR 2011 50: 615 originally published online 10 May 2011)

This peer reviewed journal discusses the use of our Neurocognitive Training System and cognitive attention training in public schools. The researchers were so inspired by their success, they received funding for a 19 school study that was published in Journal of Developmental Behavioral Pediatrics – January 2014.

Result:

Primary parents in the NF condition reported significant (P < .05) change on Conners’s Rating Scales–Revised (CRS-R) and Behavior Assessment Scales for Children (BASC) subscales; and in the SCF condition, they reported significant (P < .05) change on the CRS-R Inattention scale and ADHD index, the BASC Attention Problems Scale, and on the Behavioral Rating Inventory of Executive Functioning (BRIEF).

Conclusion:

This randomized control trial provides preliminary evidence of the effectiveness of computer-based interventions for ADHD and supports the feasibility of offering them in a school setting.

Link to the Article

 


Other Relevant Articles

Training the Brain to Focus

Tufts researchers find computer-based exercises significantly improve the ability to pay attention

Naomi Steiner, associate professor of pediatrics at Tufts School of Medicine,

Answered question:

What is the best age to start neurofeedback training? Is it ever too late?

Naomi Steiner: Neurofeedback training covers all ages. It works through the principle of brain plasticity, which means the brain can adapt by responding to stimuli or input from the environment. We can train the part of the brain that is responsible for attention—the frontal brain—by using the brain’s capacity to change. Plasticity is at the highest in younger children and tends to decrease throughout life. Neurofeedback training would be appropriate for all elementary school-aged children, but we know it has also been helpful training attention in adults, even in the 50-plus group. For that age group, we are talking about more than just attention; it also helps keep up cognitive skills. So neurofeedback can have different purposes at different ages, but there is always the same goal: improving brain function.

How soon can people expect results?

That’s extremely individualized. Middle and high school students and adults might start to see results around session 10 or 15—perhaps more or less; it really depends on the individual. Younger children take longer. There’s a huge divergence.

What’s interesting with neurofeedback is that adults only require 20 sessions compared with around 30 to 40 for elementary school kids. We think that’s because while children benefit mainly through brain plasticity, adults use what we call metacognition; that is, they think about how they’re thinking and learning. They are aware of how they can use the skills they’re learning to bridge their deficits. This, along with the neurofeedback, really is quite a tremendous combo for adults with ADHD and attention/organization difficulties.

Is it necessary to have an official ADHD diagnosis to take advantage of neurofeedback training?

That’s one of the questions I get most often. Medical doctors use a diagnosis because treatment for ADHD traditionally has been based in the medical office, and the number-one treatment has been medication, although of course behavioral therapy has been shown to work. Stimulant medications are psychotropic medications, which have side effects, so having a correct diagnosis, meeting the full diagnostic criteria, is very important.

On the other hand, we do not know of any side effects of neurofeedback attention training, so receiving the attention training doesn’t require a medical diagnosis of ADHD. Why not just train our brains to become better? We can start to look at attention skills as a spectrum. We can have parents and teachers as well as the students and adults themselves identify problems—inattention, inability to complete assignments, forgetfulness, disorganization. They can take advantage of these techniques to train their brains. This is a huge paradigm shift.

You have identified zero side effects?

We really did not see any side effects in our study. Obviously, having the kids being pulled out of the classroom for 40 sessions could be seen as a lot of time out of the classroom. But some of these children are not having a very positive experience in school. For some of them, this may have been the first time they were being given a fair chance to improve at something at their own pace. One of the added benefits we noticed in these children was that they gained self-confidence as they progressed throughout the neurofeedback intervention.

Does a child have to stop taking medication to use the cognitive training programs?

No. This was one of the first studies that included children on medication as well as children not on medication. The group taking medication progressed just as much as the group who were not. This is really important as a clinical finding, because it means that if a child is on medication and needs it to function while he or she does the neurofeedback intervention, that’s OK. They don’t have to choose.

It sounds like you think we all could benefit from brain training. Should we all try it at home?

I think right now it should be done through practitioners, as the programs are sophisticated and require some outside support. But as this technology becomes more accessible, different treatment modules will evolve depending on treatment goals. I think this is something many families will be taking into consideration, perhaps in consultation with a therapist. More and more school systems are becoming interested, too. From the public health perspective, giving access to these kinds of interventions to all children during the school day is a dream goal.

What symptoms does neurofeedback brain training address?

Quite simply, we have found it helps kids pay attention. Students will say, “I’m starting to realize when my mind wanders.” Or “Yesterday at school, I realized I wasn’t paying attention, and I can bring myself back now.” As they continue to practice, they strengthen the part of the brain responsible for focusing.

The brain training also decreases hyperactivity and impulsivity. Hyperactivity is the lack of ability to control the body. Impulsivity is the lack of ability to think twice before doing something. What it looks like on the playground is snatching a toy without asking. Or in the classroom it’s shouting out answers without raising your hand. Kids like this get into trouble very early. Let’s not forget, they aren’t doing it on purpose. But they get labeled; they develop low self-esteem, and school does not become a fun place for them to be.

What else does it improve?

It also turns out that executive function, which we know is related to attention and also is seated in the frontal brain, improves significantly. This is huge news. Executive function skills relate to the brain’s ability to orchestrate what it’s about to do. And they are extremely important, because as soon as kids hit middle school, life becomes all about how good you are at organizing your time. You have four teachers, in four classrooms. Which one do you go to at what time?

Many students will automatically color code their assignments. Other students will need to be taught those kinds of self-management skills. They can be taught, but it’s even more remarkable that neurofeedback training could be used to support the teaching. Having teaching and brain training both used synergistically is a really exciting idea.

Link to the Article

 


 

 Your Brain on Video Games

Does mind-training software really help kids with attention problems?

Excerpt from the Article

“Cognitive training systems, meanwhile, are meant to strengthen key mental skills, such as short-term memory, eye-hand coordination and visual processing—abilities many adults and students without ADHD may want to improve. Cognitive training “could be helpful for anyone,” says Frenette. “But it’s especially pertinent for children with ADHD, because they have such deficits.”

“I think it helped some kids more than others, but it was really interesting to watch their progress,” she says of the neurofeedback program. “Around session 30 to 35, it seemed like all of a sudden, they got it.”

Link to this Article

 



OUR PROGRAM

– Individual
– Professional
– School

Learn more

HOW WE CHANGE LIVES?

– Attention Deficient
– Academic Issues
– ADHD
– SEN

Learn more